Grief & Loss

Losing someone or something you care about is painful. And grief always follows. It's a normal process, with both physical and emotional signs. But even with major life changes, such as the loss of a spouse or parent, you can face the loss and move on.

Losses we grieve over

Everyone feels a major loss at some point in life. These are just some of the types of loss you might be facing:

  • The death of a family member or friend
  • Health issues such as a permanent injury, chronic illness or aging
  • A breakup, separation or divorce
  • The loss of a job, a change in income or other life changes.

How loss changes us

Loss leaves a "hole" in your life where what you lost used to be. The loss can affect the way you see yourself. Your daily routine changes if you have lost a partner, child or parent. Your self-image may change if you are no longer healthy. After a divorce, you may need to think about life on your own.

Grief takes many forms

Grief isn't just about sadness. It may make you experience a range of intense feelings. In fact, grief is often described as having five stages. They are: denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. So from moment to moment, you may:

  • Not want to believe the loss is real
  • Feel annoyed or outright angry
  • Think you could have done something to stop the loss
  • Have sad moods and feel hopeless
  • Accept that the loss is real and that you can cope